Australia Day Awards Winners

Australia Day Awards Winners

Congratulations to Dr. James Berryman (Citizen of the Year) and Tiarna West (Young Citizen of the Year) for their outstanding contributions to the Waratah-Wynyard municipality and the greater community.
Dr Berryman is dedicated to ensuring everyone in our community has access to good medical services. His national award winning clinic provides allied services to the communities in our area. He has previously been recognised as National GP Educator of the Year for his outstanding work; including with Rural and Remote Medical Students at UTAS.
Tiarna West is dedicated to Surf Life Saving and youth mental health. She has been involved in Surf Life Saving for 10 years (since she was 13) – she is a member of two clubs. She is also a member of the Youth Reference Group for Headspace and is a member of the Waratah-Wynyard Youth Leadership group. She has implemented a pathways information session for young women in grades 7-10 across Northern Tasmania to encourage participation, networking and leadership for young women in Surf Life Saving. Tiarna is a fully qualified member of the Emergency Response Team for Surf Life Saving Tasmania and one of 24 women across Australia to be chosen to participate in a women’s Mentoring Program for Surf Life Saving Australia. Tiarna has also been involved with Headspace since its inception in 2020 and was involved in co-designing Headspace offices in Burnie and Devonport.
Council also recognises the other nominees for the Australia Day Awards;
The Young Citizen of the Year nominees are:
  • Kaytlyn Johnson
  • Shaun West
  • Trinity Shires

The Citizen of the Year nominees are:

  • Sue Walsh
  • Dr. Mary Kille
  • Lyn King

We are proud to have such dedicated and talented individuals in Waratah-Wynyard. Thank you on behalf of our community.


Social Share